How do I know I’ve received the Spirit?

I was recently asked, “How do I know I’ve received the Holy Spirit? How long does it take?”

Here’s my reply.

The big question you have to ask yourself is this. Do I believe in Jesus? For Romans 8:9 says everyone who belongs to Christ has the Spirit. Indeed no-one puts their faith in Jesus without the Spirit opening their eyes to his glory. So the first and biggest sign of the Spirit is faith in Christ.
Here’s a second question. Do you pray? For Romans 8:15-16 says everyone who calls on God as Father does so through the Spirit. Without the Spirit, pray feels like talking to the ceiling. It is the Spirit who assures us that God is a Father who is willing and able to hear our prayers. So the second main sign of the Spirit in our lives meaningful prayer to God as our Father.
Sometimes the Spirit does dramatic things in our lives. But these are not the norm. Nor are they the most reliable signs of the Spirit’s work. The key signs are faith in Christ and prayer to the Father.
Who on Earth Is the Holy Spirit? by myself and Christopher de la Hoyde is available in the UK from thinkivp.com and in the US from thegoodbook.com.

SPONSORS
Support this site by using these links:

thinkivp amazon.com
includes Tim Chester’s books
20% of every thinkivp purchase goes
to train Christian leaders in poorer countries