Facebook and narcissism

An interesting article on the Guardian website that confirms all my prejudices about Facebook …

Researchers have established a direct link between the number of friends you have on Facebook and the degree to which you are a “socially disruptive” narcissist, confirming the conclusions of many social media sceptics.

People who score highly on the Narcissistic Personality Inventory questionnaire had more friends on Facebook, tagged themselves more often and updated their newsfeeds more regularly.

The research comes amid increasing evidence that young people are becoming increasingly narcissistic, and obsessed with self-image and shallow friendships.

Read the rest of the article here.

SPONSORS
Support this site by using these links:

amazon.co.uk amazon.com

includes Tim Chester’s books and recommendations.

3 thoughts on “Facebook and narcissism

  1. Tim, I saw this article on the Guardian right after it was published. I thought, “Tim needs to see this.” Sure enough, you were already on the case. You must have pulled it off your Facebook news feed. I only have 2 friends on FB (Jonathan & Bartholomew) and was hoping you would be the third. I promise to tag you on every picture I find. I’ll even update your status for you every hour (which is so non-narcisstic, btw). I also noticed the irony that 11 people have already shared this post through FB… good work.
    —–
    Seriously, repeated studies and observations have come out stating much of the same thing. I would guess that millions of people are drowning in their own narcissism with the help of FB. So that would indicate that FB is a projection of “the world we all want” — and with our sinful natures, this means a world of self-love. One article mentioned that the great majority of status updates are more statements of “look at me” instead of “listen to what I have to say.” And this is where I think the narcissism comes onto the pitch when we seek (as the Guardian article mentions) to cast a glorious self-image without anybody having to really know the un-glorious reality underneath it all. FB provides that false safety in shallow friendships that allow us to broadcast anything but will never go deeper to broadcast Good News to the prisons of self-love like Gospel friendships do. I wrote a couple corresponding paragraphs about that at http://wp.me/p2i0Eg-K.

    Thanks for all your prejudices, Tim. We like you.

  2. Hi Rob,
    Yes, sorry about the not befriending on your Facebook. But I don’t have a Facebook account. Our real world Friendship will have to suffice. Ah, suddenly I see the attraction of Facebook! ;-) (Remember: British men do intimacy by being rude.) My adage for Facebook is this: Use it to facilitate real-world friendships, not to replace them. I may post some more sustained reflection on Facebook at some point.
    Tim

Comments are closed.