The first time I met John Stott

When I was nineteen I attended a day conference in Newcastle at which John Stott was the speaker. When we arrived, the friend with whom I’d come went off to the toilet and I was left alone, feeling out of place. An older man came over and began talking to me, asking me about myself. After a few moments my friend returned and the man introduced himself, ‘Hello, I’m John Stott.’ My jaw nearly hit the floor. I’d been speaking to the great John Stott without realizing it. That moment made a big impression on me. John – who was the only speaker that day – had seen an awkward looking teenager on his own and taken it upon himself to make him feel welcome. I met him a few times subsequently and he always remembered my name. The private John Stott was just as impressive as the public persona: gracious, humble, without affectation. I’m sure it was this humility that meant God could entrust him with the influence and success he received. It is hard to underestimate the impact he has had across the world. “Thank you, gracious Father.”

Langham Partnership have launched a memorial site for John Stott.

7 thoughts on “The first time I met John Stott

  1. Pingback: The most important thing I learnt from John Stott « a missional life

  2. Pingback: John Stott: 1921 – 2011 « The Ponderous Pilgrim

  3. Pingback: Thoughts On…John Stott « A Young Theologian

  4. Your experience of John Stott is almost the exact same encounter I had with you. Good memories!!

  5. I had gthe great joy to have met him several years ago when he was speaking in Northern Ireland. Humble, Gracious, Kind, Godly man. He left a last impact on me and was hugely instrumental in my becoming a Christian

  6. My wife and I used to share a pew with Mrs Martyn Lloyd-Jones at the Chapel (she would nod!). Against this kind of background I tend to think that John Stott, despite his differences with MLJ, may ultimately be seen by history as playing a vital role in maintaining a dynamic bridge between the classic ‘mainstream’ (ie gathered-model) Evangelicalism which (eg)I learned as a child under Leith Samuel at ABC So’ton, and its counterpart, catholic-model Evangelicalism a la All Souls/HTB. I’ve researched (and published on) the catholic-model type for some years now, and wonder whether another, ‘beyond hierarchy and social normalcy’ form of the latter may eventually emerge. (This one hopefully with a greater emphasis on ‘coming together with joy and sincerity of heart’.) John Stott may well perhaps prove to have been a major holding-pin between the two Evangelicalisms over a key developmental period?

Comments are closed.