Gospel-Centred Life

Steve Timmis and I have a new workbook coming out from The Good Book Company in the UK @ £3 in the next few days and in the US in the next few weeks called Gospel-Centred Life. It’s a follow-up to our workbook, Gospel-Centred Church.

Like GCC, it has short chapters with a scenario to consider, a Bible passage with questions, an explanation and some reflection questions or ideas for action.

Here’s the blurb …

Meet John, who is struggling to relate the Bible to his dull, difficult life. Or Kate, who is trying hard as a Christian, yet is deeply disappointed with God. Or Susie, who dutifully shows up at church each Sunday, but feels alone and out of it. Or Andrew, whose courage fails him every time he tries to share the gospel with his workmates – leaving him feeling guilty and a failure.

How can ordinary Christians live the truly extraordinary life that God calls us to? By focusing our attention on the grace of God shown to us in the gospel, everyday problems and experiences like these, familiar to Christians everywhere, can be transformed as the cross of Christ becomes the motive and measure of everything we do.

Sympathetic to our struggles… clear and concise… rooted in the Bible… relevant to our everyday experience… The Gospel-Centred Life shows how every Christian can follow the way of the cross as they embrace the liberating grace of God in Christ.

Use this workbook to help you, your small group or your whole church grow into Christian maturity.

Here’s an online sample …

And here’s an outline of the contents …

Part One: Gospel-Centred Change

1. A life for God
It’s not about me – it’s about God and His glory

2. A life for others
It’s not about me – it’s about loving God and others

3. A life of change
God is making me more like Jesus for His glory and my good

4. A life of miracles
The Holy Spirit changes me through the gospel

Part Two: Gospel-Centred Perspectives

5. Look up to God
I respond to the gospel with daily faith and repentance

6. Look back to the cross
The cross is the foundation and pattern of my life

7. Look around to the Christian community
Belonging to Jesus means belonging to His community

8. Look forward to eternity
Eternal glory offers more than this life

Part Three: Gospel-Centred Living

9. Decisions
My top priority is serving Christ

10. Relationships
I have a duty of care that involves taking the initiative to serve and resolve conflict

11. Friends
My willingness to speak of Jesus arises from my delight in Jesus

12. Horizons
The gospel enlarges my horizons, giving me a concern for God’s world

13. Possessions
God gives me blessing that I might glorify Him

14. Suffering
God gives me suffering that I might glorify Him

14 thoughts on “Gospel-Centred Life

  1. That sounds very interesting and good. I’m looking forward to ordering it. Right now there seems to be no possibility to pre-order it somewhere.

    Besides that, any news concerning a total church conference in February 2010?

  2. Pingback: Gospel-Centered Workbook « The Road To Emmaus

  3. Pingback: Gospel-Centered Life Workbook « The Road To Emmaus

  4. If we end up using this book in our small group, we’ll need to do what we should have done on “Gospel Centred Church.” We should have whited out the “wrong” [British] spelling of centered so that our group wouldn’t think you were careless editors;) … don’t worry, my Canadian wife also has issues with spelling words like color and the letter “z”, so you’re not alone in your “errors” …

    Our group is using your Mark 1-8 Study Guide (on Ch. 3) and it’s going very, very well. Three of us rotate leading the study and are using the guide in tandem with N.T. Wright’s “Mark for Everyone”. Most fun and meaningful study of the Bible in a group I’ve ever had!

  5. A few responses …
    1. The two books can be used independently of one another. So you can work through one without first using the other.
    2. No further news on the Total Church conference in Sheffield except what was stated here … https://timchester.wordpress.com/2009/08/07/uk-total-church-conference/.
    3. I’m not even going to respond to the comment about the ‘mis-spelling’ of centred except to point out that I was born, bred and educated in England, the home of English. Plus I noticed yesterday that the ‘theatre’ on the Commons in the centre (sic.) of Boston is called ‘theatre’ not ‘theater’ so it turns out that at least some Americans can spell correctly.

  6. Tim, I thoroughly enjoyed my time with you at Mt Laurel Evangelical Free Church. I was nice talking to your daughter too. Seems like a great young lady. I’m the footy fan who was disappointed this Sunday by Liverpool’s defeat.

    This guide looks awesome. I’m ordering The Gospel Centred Church today. I’ll order the Life when it is available in the States.

    Besides your frustration with American spelling, which is a result of a direct act of rebellion by Noah Webster way back when American’s were Brits, I hope your visit to was a blessing to you. It certainly blessed me.

  7. I won’t comment on your comment — except to say that you may have started the English language over there on your little island, we perfected the English language over here in the United States of America … we talk real good over here on this here side of the pond …

  8. Pingback: Gospel-Centred Life « God in the Wasteland

  9. Yes, I saw that WHM have recently brought out a workbook with a similar title which I’m sure is excellent. Gospel-Centred Life was in the late stages of production before we knew about it plus it is a follow up to Gospel-Centred Church which we wrote back in 2002 (I think). We are hoping to create a little mini-series. Gospel-Centred Family is coming out in January 2010. One distinguishing feature is that we spell ‘centred’ correctly! ;-)

  10. Pingback: Gospel-Centred Life in the US « Tim Chester

Comments are closed.