Good News to the Poor audio

The audio of my New Word Alive 2008 seminar track has been put online by Micah’s Call. Some of this material draws on my book, Good News to the Poor purchase from Amazon UK purchase from Amazon US.

The poor and the Christian mission – part one

The poor and the Christian mission – part two

The poor and the Christian community

The poor and the Christian message – part one

The poor and the Christian message – part two

Just to clarify – these talks are from New Word Alive 2008 – not from the NWA that has just taken place (2009). This year I took the different (though related) theme of how we contextualise the gospel to the culture of the urban poor – expanding some of the ideas introduced in the third talk above (‘the poor and the Christian message’).

Bookmark and Share

7 thoughts on “Good News to the Poor audio

  1. I was at your seminars all week and thought they were brilliant. I was a little frustrated at some of the questions you received. It made me think people weren’t listening!

    Thanks for getting me to start thinking about these issues. I’m going to download the series from the NWA site so I can listen again…who knows I may find a copy of your book). Anyway, thanks very much for the entire week.

  2. Tim,
    When I have a spare moment I’m going to listen to the chats…in the meantime, can you recommend some good books on the subject of the gospel for the poor?
    Thx.

  3. Pingback: NWA9: “What I Enjoyed Most” « Saint Beagle

  4. Hi Tim – will have time to listen to these soon I hope. I have just come home from Llanw which was a kind of Welsh language NWA (but on a much smaller scale obviously! see: http://www.llanw.org/ ) one Pastor there was telling me about you seminar in NWA 09 when you talked about working church in a minority language context, he really appreciated your contribution – looking forward to listening to the MP3 or reading a transcript.

    Rhys

  5. Thanks for the comment Rhys. I hope Llanw went well.

    I was responding to those who oppose homogenous groups or culturally-focused expressions of church because we are all one in Christ. I agree, of course, that the gospel transcends culture, but if we are not intentional then the dominant culture in society dominates in church. And the result (ironically!) is cultural homogeneity. It was this principle that I learnt from my Welsh-speaking brothers and sisters (although at NWA I was applying it to working-class and middle-class differences).

    So we need to find ways of expressing our unity in Christ and celebrating our God-given diversity of cultures. There’s no one right structure for doing this, but one way or another both aspects have to be present in church life.

    Tim

  6. Mr. Chester,

    Do you have any similar content to your recent talks at NWA? I was able to find one talk at the San Diego A29 church.

    If you get a chance to reply. Thanks!

  7. Hi Jeff

    The best I can offer is the third talk above which was this years talks in embryonic form. I am toying with a book on the subject. But I feel reluctant. I’m not ministering in an area that socio-economically mixed, but it’s not very poor so I don’t feel in a strong position to speak to these kinds of issues. Yet no-one else seems to be doing so. Plenty of people speak of the need to reach our poor urban centres and plenty of people write on running social projects. But there is very little (that I know of) on contextualizing the gospel message to this context. Last time I wrote that on my blog people came up with various suggestions, but most of them turned out to be stories of people ministering in such areas and did not really offer an approach. I’m not saying good work is going on, but people are not writing down their learning. I suspect many people who work effectively in such contexts do so through instinct – which is great, but often means they can’t provide a methodology for those of us who have to think through what we’re doing!

    Tim

Comments are closed.