Putting audio on the web

Can anyone help me? I have some audio I’ve been trying to put on the web so I can link to it from my blog. I don’t have many files so I want to avoid paying  for a subscription service. (WordPress, for example, who host my blog, charge extra for putting audio on your blog.) I have various free file sharing sites that I use, but they don’t allow you to link directly. So I could use them, but everyone would have to go through a second link page. I’d like to include a direct audio link as I did in my recent post on C.J. Mahaney.

Any suggestions?

12 thoughts on “Putting audio on the web

  1. How about Jellycast – i use them for my podcasts – they put them onto iTunes but you can link to individual files directly.
    For the basic package, you pay a one-off fee of £10, and then have up to 25GB of monthly bandwidth – but i guess it just depends how many fans you have out there, Tim…
    http://www.jellycast.com/join.html

  2. Personally I’d use Amazon S3 (Simple Web Storage). It does cost, but you only pay for what you use (how much you upload, how much other people download) and it’s pennies (or cents). My monthly bill is $0.43 on average. Here’s the link: http://aws.amazon.com/s3/. Use the US edition. You’ll also need a plugin for the Firefox web browser called S3 fox (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/3247) which makes it really easy to manage your files. You have to set them to being publicly available but then it just gives you a simple URL to paste into your blog. It’s a tiny bit more techy but it’s far and away the best solution for storing big files on the web and making them available to others.

  3. Thanks for all the suggestions. I went with Sermon Cloud in the end because it’s free and because it was started by a good friend of mine, Drew Goodmanson, with whom I stayed last year when we did the North American Total Church conference. It was having some problems after a major upgrade, but seems to be okay now.

  4. Pingback: Radio interview on the Trinity « Tim Chester

Comments are closed.