Feel the truth

We read from Ephesians 2 at our prayer meeting this morning. I was struck again by the language Paul uses.

But God is so rich in mercy, and he loved us so much, that even though we were dead because of our sins, he gave us life when he raised Christ from the dead … So God can point to us in all future ages as examples of the incredible wealth of his grace and kindness toward us, as shown in all he has done for us who are united with Christ Jesus. (4-5, 7)

Paul doesn’t simply say: God is rich in mercy and he loved us. He says: ‘God is so rich in mercy, and he loved us so much …’ So rich. So much. Paul doesn’t just know the truth. He feels the truth.

And that’s what I want in my life and that’s what I want for our community. I want us to feel the truth. I want tears, excitement, wonder, awe. I want us to exclaim: ‘incredible’! Oh, the incredible wealth of his grace and kindness toward us.’

Then I read this from Rhys Llwyd’s blog.

One rather elderly brother at Monday night’s meeting, David Hughes from Cross-hands, told me that he knew my great-Grandmother! David Hughes must have been in his 90s. He used to work with my Great-Uncle Alun, my Grandfathers brother, down the mines. He had a very special story about my great-Grandmother, Ester. Ester lost her husband, my great-Grandfather, at a young age to an accident at the coal mine. David Hughes told me that people had huge respect and admiration for Ester as she bought up three children on her own; she was a very Godly woman. David Hughes remembered Ester for her public praying at Church – he remembers her down on her knees, literally, in tears talking with her Saviour. This was very very powerful testimony as David Hughes recalled.

‘Down on her knees, literally, in tears talking with her Saviour.’

One thought on “Feel the truth

  1. I agree – that we need to ‘feel’ the truth! The question is, “how?”, who hasn’t in all honesty sung, “awake my soul, and sing” with a degree of frustration at one’s own lack of response?

    I have a friend who is an ethnodoxologist, helping people in people groups who have responded to the gospel of Christ, to be able to worship in song. One of the problems is that when songs are provided for them by other groups,-even when translated -they don’t inhabit them and so they don’t help them to “feel” the truth. Strangely, this is how I have felt in church coutless times…….. but I really want to feel the truth!

    Tim Keller preached a sermon on ‘feeling truth’ in which he stressed the the importance of not just reading scripture, but says that ‘meditation on scripture’ is the method by which truth moves from head to heart. He looked at various probing questions to ask and apply to each text at length.

    Worship music that stirs the soul and impart truths about Christ, meditating on scripture….. what else can we do to feel the truth more deeply?

Comments are closed.