Reading the Bible every day

Yesterday I posted a new Bible reading plan that we have compiled for The Edge Network.

We’ve been doing it for a year already so our reading for this week is Joshua 1-9. Joshua 1 is a timely reminder of the importance of disciplined Bible reading. God says to Joshua at the beginning of his ministry:

“Study this Book of Instruction continually. Meditate on it day and night so you will be sure to obey everything written in it. Only then will you prosper and succeed in all you do. This is my command – be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:8-9)

Meditate on it day and night.

But what struck me was the line, ‘Only then will you prosper and succeed in all you do’ Like many people I generally read my Bible and prayer in the morning. And every morning part of me wants to get through my reading so I can get on with the tasks I know await me. And so my Bible reading and prayer is rushed. Even when I am disciplined about giving it  time, my mind is moving on into the day. I want to get busy so my ministry can prosper and succeed.

But God says that Joshua will only prosper and succeed if he meditates on God’s word every day.

I define success in terms of completely tasks. But that is a very inadequate definition of success. Success is being faithful to God and that depends on knowing him. And what better way to know God than to spend time meditating on his word and talking to him in prayer.

One of the fruit of the Spirit is self-control. So let’s be disciplined about spending time with God and with his word each day in 2009.

4 thoughts on “Reading the Bible every day

  1. Pingback: bible reading « fish back in water

Comments are closed.