A shortlist for the book title

Thanks to everyone who contributed to the discussion of a title for my next book. Someone suggested a phone poll along the lines of Strictly Come Dancing (or Dancing with the Stars if you’re in the US) – thanks Sarah! I’ve had a conversation with IVP and here’s a (not very) short list …

The Everyday Cross: Living the Story of Jesus
Crossroads: Living the Story of Jesus
The Forever Perspective: Living the Cross and Resurrection
The Radical Disciple: Living the Cross and Resurrection
The Revolutionary Disciple: Living the Cross and Resurrection
The Revolution of Weakness: Living the Cross and Resurrection
The Upside-Down Life: Living the Cross and Resurrection
One in 400: Living the Cross and Resurrection

Click here for an explanation of this last suggestion.

I realise of lot of you liked ‘Total Discipleship’. The problem is that if you’ve read Total Church and you see Total Discipleship then I think you would expect a kind of sequel that applies the twin principles of gospel-centred and community-centred to the individual Christian. This book doesn’t do that.

15 thoughts on “A shortlist for the book title

  1. I’m with Helen :-)
    I miss the paradox feel of some of the non short listed ones, so I also like the revolution of weakness which captures this the most of the ones that are left I guess.
    The upside down life reminds me of that book “the upside down kingdom” which is maybe not an awful thing but true nevertheless!

  2. well, i agree and almost held back my pick of ‘total discipleship’ for the reason that it may have been viewed as a part 2 of sorts.

    i just read the story about the herring. i like one in 400 now… its interesting.

    i also like the everyday cross. sounds like some of your others… it fits. :)

    (by the way, i am really loving ‘you can change’ – thanks for everything!)

    sam

  3. I really like including Weakness in the title, but while I understand the goal of being paradoxical, “Revolution” feels almost bombastic to me–it almost subverts the title. I wonder if something like “The Way of Weakness” might work. Regardless of the title, it sounds like a good book!

  4. Votes from Sarah for …

    The Everyday Cross: Living the Story of Jesus (too like Everyday with Jesus maybe?)

    The Upside-Down Life: Living the Cross and Resurrection (I like this one: but reminds me of Tom Sine and “Small is Beautiful”

  5. I imagine ‘The Upside-Down Life: Living the Cross and Resurrection’ is a good one in terms of marketing with so many Purpose Driven Life, Your Best Life now type of books.

    I think The Everyday Cross: Living the Story of Jesus is on to something but maybe needs a tweak. The Daily Cross or something like that. The ‘everyday cross’ makes it seem rote versus the daily need for it.

  6. Del suggests:

    Power to be weak: Living the cross and resurrection

    Suffering now, glory later: Living the cross and resurrection

    we’re not sure if the IVP shortlist is definitive or not so thought we’d throw them in!

  7. Apparently people don’t buy titles with the word ‘servant’ in. So I’m not sure the title ‘how to die’ is going to get well! (I had to fight to get the word ‘sin’ in the subtitle of You Can Change.)

    ‘Power to be Weak’ was an early suggestion. But it didn’t grab anyone.

  8. My first reaction was crossroads, but it reminds me of the tv show form the 1980’s!

    I like the everyday cross.

  9. I favor the “Upside-Down Life” out of all the choices. I think terms like “radical” and “revolutionary” confuse discipleship (aka, our life-long-becoming like Jesus). In other words it might sets up a false expectation: “do you want to just be a normal Christian, or do you want to be a radical Christian!” Biblical discipleship is radical in and of itself; it’s revolutionary for sure. So “radical disciple” is really redundant, in my (almost) humble opinion!

    By the way, ‘You Can Change’ and ‘Total Church’ are bearing good fruit here in Maine, New England!

Comments are closed.