Reader feedback: What do you think? What do you want?

Well, as you can see, I’ve given my blog a bit of a redesign. I’ve also added a photo because apparently people like an image of the person they’re reading – though in my case, you might wish you’d hadn’t asked! I’m also hoping in time to add an ‘articles’ page.

Can I ask for some reader feedback?

1. What kind of content do you most like to see on my blog? Missiology and church planting? Spirituality? Exposition? Theology?

2. Any thoughts on a tagline? I’ve been using ‘reformed spirituality, radical ecclesiology’. It’s fairly descriptive, but also fairly dull. Besides I’m not very keen on the word ‘radical’ because it defines you in relation to other people which is a dangerous route to go down.

3. What do you think of the new design? Any suggestions?

I’m off to San Diego on Thursday for the Total Church North America Conference hosted by Kaleo Church and then on to visit Soma Communities in Tacoma and Lighthouse House Church in Chicago. I’ll be back towards the end of August so you have until then to make suggestions. Hopefully I’ll get the chance to post some entries while I’m away, but I won’t be making any changes to the blog.

9 thoughts on “Reader feedback: What do you think? What do you want?

  1. Tim,

    Thanks for your inquiry into the interests of your readers.

    I would like to continue seeing the excellent missiology and church planting posts that I have become accustomed to finding on your blog.

    Several months ago I had email contact with you about the book Total Church. At that time I was trying to find a way to purchase the book (that was before the US edition that is to come out in September). I followed your suggestion and purchased it through Amazon.

    I have read the book and found the teaching of the principals presented – to be word-centered, mission-centered, and community-centered -to be exactly the encouragement that I needed to hear
    as we are seeking to be more missional and intentional in our neighborhood and ministry to international students at Texas A&M University in Texas. Thanks for the good word.

    I regret that I am not able to attend the Total Church conference this month. I will be anxious to read the posts that come out of it and hope that there will be on-line teachings that I will be able to listen to.

    Thanks again.

    Blessings,

    Scott
    Texas, USA

  2. In answer to (1), keep going with that mix. The recent discussions about preaching and incarnational mission clarified some issues through the comments that followed. Of particular value, personally, are posts of your teaching in church.

    (2) Agree with your thoughts about using the word ‘radical’, but I don’t do taglines, my brain’s not snappy enough…

    (3) The new design avoids the quirkiness and fleeting trendiness of some blog templates. The angled picture in the top left makes me a bit seasick if I stare at it too long. (Perhaps that’s a good thing, as I won’t spend too much time browsing in the one place!) Oh, and the choice of font is good: clear, fresh, easy to read.

    “Have a nice day!” (or two in SD)

  3. Tim

    I really like the new feel of the blog. As for what you post I’m quite happy to read about whatever’s vexing, stimulating or challenging you, theological, missional or secular…

    Jase

    Jude v2

  4. I like the original tag-line. I followed a link to your blog, was immediately intrigued by it, read-on as a result, and have been back often. I don’t think the updated tag has the same impact or so well describes the particular contribution you are seeking to make.

    “Missional church” is a very common thing to read these days, “radical ecclesiology” I think jumps out of the page as something different!

  5. It’s all fine as it is, apart from maybe a better photo? The angle is a bit odd as has been mentioned, and your shirt blends in with your chair and wardrobe, making you wonderfully camouflaged, but not so easy to see. Also, unless Ritz are paying you, I’d maybe drop them from the photo. But you teaching from a bible (ESV no less) in a chair in someone’s home, that says far more than the tagline does without defining you against anything.

  6. It revises my opinion of myself! If I could get the type of bible wrong then clearly I’m not as near perfect holiness as I thought I was. Alas.

  7. Tim,
    Great content, as ever, and nice and jolly with the new blues and greens. I’d like to have the ability to find posts by date – something down the side with Aug 2008, July 2008, June 2008, etc.
    See you in Northants soon!
    James

Comments are closed.