Why does God allow so much suffering? #3

On Sundays at the moment we are focusing on and exploring ‘The Questions of Faith that People Ask.’ Here is the third part of the answer to the third question.

Suffering points to the glorious grace of God
What is the point of suffering? We don’t know because we’re not God. But maybe it is to demonstrate the glory of God’s grace. Paul says the purpose of God’s plan for the world is ‘that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus.’ (Ephesians 2:7) Maybe suffering is designed to show the horrendous depth and consequences of our rebellion against God; maybe suffering is designed to show the glorious extent and cost of our redemption by God. Maybe without suffering we would never have appreciated God’s grace, nor felt secure in his love.

The reason there is a new heaven and a new earth is because when God conceived of a universe of material things he conceived of everything: ‘It will be created perfect. It will, by my decree, fall. I will labour patiently for thousands of years with a people recalcitrant showing the depth of human sin and I will at the centre and apex of my purpose, send my Son to bear my wrath on my people. And then I will gather a people who believe in him for myself. And then I will return and I will cast all of the unbelievers into hell, which will demonstrate the infinite worth of my glory and the infinite value of my Son’s sacrifice, which they have rejected. And I will renew the earth and I will make my people so beautiful and then tailor this universe for them with this purpose – that when my Son is lifted up with his wounds, they will sing the song of the Lamb who was slain before the foundation of the world in the mind of God who planned it all.’ Therefore, be it resolved: We will endure any suffering. We will endure any assault, any slander, any reviling, any disease, precisely because we have a great reward in heaven, namely, Jesus Christ crucified.[1]

Does this sound calculating on God’s part, as if human suffering was a price worth paying for his own self-aggrandisement? Then remember that God himself experiences our suffering. He dies experiencing the full extent of godforsakenness: ‘At the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice … “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?'”‘ (Mark 15:34) God himself cries out in protest against God!


[1] John Piper, sermon transcript, ‘The Triumph of the Gospel in the New Heavens and the New Earth.’ (desiringgod.org)

One thought on “Why does God allow so much suffering? #3

  1. Pingback: Why does God allow so much suffering? « But God…

Comments are closed.