One page guide to hermeneutics

Here is my one page guide to understanding the Bible. It’s based around the following six questions:

  1. What does the passage say?
  2. Why does the author say in this way?
  3. Why does the author say it here?
  4. Why does this passage belong at this point in the Bible story?
  5. What response did the author want from his readers?
  6. What response should we make today?

In short: ‘What?’ ‘Why?’ and ‘So what?’ It is the ‘Why?’ question that too often get missed out as people expound the Bible along with the question about what response the original author was looking for.

I’ll be using it with my Northern Training students next week, getting them to apply it to Ephesians 2:1-10.

5 thoughts on “One page guide to hermeneutics

  1. Thanks for this Tim. Does this one page guide mean I can now put my Moore College textbooks away?

    Anyway, good to see you’re blogging again.

  2. Pingback: Questions to ask when reading the Bible with people « Tim Chester

  3. Hi Tim.

    Great blog and great article.

    By the way, you have a spelling mistake in the last paragraph of your pdf. You wrote “lose” as “loose”. It won’t put me off sharing it with my small group leaders, though.

    Thanks also for posting Sihle’s article.

    Pierre
    South Africa

Comments are closed.